Converting from Xfinity router to Deco

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-11-09 21:07:25 - last edited 2022-11-10 00:46:24

I am a beginner in the router world. My question: I currently have an xfinity router that I rent @ $14/month and I want to buy my own instead. I am considering the Deco W7200. Good idea? Worth it? Easy to set up? Any other advice/tips? Thank you!

Options
4 Reply
Re:Converting from Xfinity router to Deco
2022-11-10 16:02:50

@User42 Also, it's for a 3-story house, about1800sqft., with both back and front yards.

Options
2022-11-11 15:02:26 - last edited 2022-11-11 15:04:40

@User42 

Quite a bit more information will be required to give you any actionable suggestions.

Which floor is the ISP Modem located?  

Is the ISP connecting via cable, fiber, copper DSL? I don't mean to sound ignorant, but Xfinity is not in my area, so I have no idea how they connect.

You say you want to replace the Xfinity router, is that a separate physical box from the Modem? If so then what is the manufacturer and model of the Modem.

What specifically is the Xfinity model number? 

How are networked devices currently connected (Ethernet vs Wi-Fi) and where are they located in the home?

What is age of your home?  Ask due to the differences in interior wall construction techniques over the decades. Concrete, Lath&Plaster, Dry Wall; all have different characteristics in allowing Wi-Fi signals to penetrate.

This is a good starting point. 

Options
2022-11-11 16:26:53

@DAServices 

Thank you for your time on this. Best I can do in responding right now to your questions:

The ISP modem is in the basement. The ISP connects via cable.

The Xfinity router is a separate physical box from the modem. It is a router manufactured in 2017.