New confused user with questions

2023-12-14 05:48:29
Model: Deco S4  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.4.3

Hi all,

I'm a networking newbie with several questions.  I recognize that many of these are RTFM questions so pointing me to the relevant document(s) would be helpful and will hopefully take less time than formulating an answer.

I have the Deco s4 with a main base and two satellite units. The system has been operational for about a year and totally satisfactory. I'm in the process of adding 2 NAS units to the network and this has caused some serious network availability issues.  I'm trying to learn enough to resolve the problems before my patient wife kills me.  There are 3 computer, 2 phones, 2 NAS units and some IOT connected. I am changing the network topology to cable the computer which uses the NAS and both NAS units into a switch. The switch then connects directly to a Deco unit using an Ethernet cable.

1) Is there a way to tell what Deco unit a specific device is connected to?  A better approach might be to list the devices connected to each Deco.

2) Is there a way to tell how much load is coming from each device? Preferable a way to track the traffic over time to a chart or graph.  If part of the problem is two or more devices demanding too much bandwidth concurrently there may be a way to schedule around the problem.

3) What does it mean when the tp-link software reports cpu at 100% (varies in real time from 20% to 100% but sits at 100% a lot) and memory around 50%? Does this mean the router is saturated?

4) The Deco has a "wireless" and "guest" with both 2.5 and 5 GHz frequencies and multiple channels.  Will locating devices on separate frequencies and splitting them between the Wireless and Guest help overall throughput?