WiFi router network system install..

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-02-22 21:54:18 - last edited 2019-02-25 00:53:47
Model: Archer C9  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Newbie here so please pardon the unprofessional questions.

Trying to install a wifi system/network in a 5 story building (church with educational wing). I have purchased 5 (five) Archer C9 AC1900 Dual Band Gigbit Routers. I have 100 Mbs cable internet coming into the building. The building has all wire reinforced plaster construction on all floors thus creating a Faraday cage in all rooms and on all floors. I would like to enter the building at the first floor unit by connecting the signal from the cable company modem to the internet connection on the first router. Then to go to the next router for the second floor, should I cable using CAT6 wire from one of the #1 router outputs to the #2 router internet connection and then "daisy chain likewise to each of the following three units (#2.5 main sanstuary, #3 third floor and #4 fourth floor) or should the system be wired differently?

I presently have it wired as above, each unit input coming from the previous unit's LAN output but the system drops out frequently and I have to reboot everything.. 

Desire to set up Guest Networks on each floor.

Would it be better to run from the cable modem into a router and then a separate LAN ethernet cable to each router?

Ideas and suggestions?

Many thanks!

RichMT

Options
2 Reply
Re:WiFi router network system install..
2019-02-25 18:10:30

@RichMT What would probably be a better setup is to configure all C9 units except the one wired to the modem as a access point. When you log into the router go to Advanced > Operation Mode (left side). You will be able to select Access Point Mode there.