Archer A7 v5 drops internet connection

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-02-27 04:06:51
Model: Archer A7  
Hardware Version: V5
Firmware Version:

Recently purchased the A7 and went through the quick setup on the app which worked flawlessly. I then had issues with my internet provider shortly after setting up the router but had it resolved but even though I had internet from the modem the router still did not have internet. Contacted support and they were absolutely horrific and did not help at all after on the phone with them for 2 hours when I realized what the issue was and fixed it but customer support said I was wrong but to call if I had any issues. Haven't had any issues in the 3 weeks since I purchased it until today. Since I am a grad student I mainly use my wifi for school, basic apple tv streaming and games. When I tried to plug in my xbox one or apple tv to my A7 router via ethernet the router would drop the internet connection and I had to power off both the modem and router to gain internet connection again without any issues. Is there anyway to fix this without having to call TP-Link customer support since they were not helpful the first time around?

Options
12 Reply
Re:Archer A7 v5 drops internet connection
2020-02-27 18:18:44
By chance are you using the same cable? Try a different cable.
Options
2020-02-27 19:20:44

@amg2024 

What was the first issue and what did you do to resolve it?

Follow the Ethernet cables behind the router, what is connecting to what?

Options
2020-02-27 19:23:57

@ArcherC8 

Thanks for the reply! I'm using the Ethernet cable I've had for sometime to connect my Xbox or Apple TV but I'll try a new one.

Options
2020-02-27 19:26:38

@Tony