KP200 - Possible Scenes bug

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-09-20 02:35:16 - last edited 2020-09-20 10:17:47
Model: KP200  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.9

Preface                                         

It's likley that I'm a n00b and simply have my wires crossed. Although I'm a tech guy by day, IoT is NOT my specialty, so I could very well be overlooking something.

Background                                 

My son is driving me bananas with his TV usage. IMHO, it's used too frequently and for too long a duration. It frequently distracts him from homework, chores, and other things, and he often uses it at too high a volume. This tends to cause trouble at night and in the mornings. After trying a variety of approaches, the KP200 seemed to hold promise. These devices should allow automated control over the TV through scheduled downtimes for each outlet, and by having the ability to disabling the outlet manually when the volume is too high.

Because I also have fiber-optic internet through my cable provider, the TV, cable set-top box, Blu Ray player, soundbar, and router/modem were all plugged into two adjacent outlets prior to intalling the KP200 devices. This number of devices required the implementation of two KP200 devices. I knew that my son would quickly realize that once an outlet was powered down, he need only plug devices into an adjacent plug which remained powed up. This meant that I needed to power off ALL plugs except for the one to which the modem, set-top box, and wireless router were connected (since these would be required to communicate with the KP200s). 

Installation/Configuration