HS200 stopped activating switch, but responds to group

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-10-05 02:45:35
Model: HS200  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.5.7

Hi.  So I've been using these switches for 1-2 years no problem, and no changes to wiring.

Today, I noticed my HS200 switch that controls my outdoor floodlights would not turn the lights on.  I physically pressed the button when I discovered this.  (It also does not work when the individual switch, not the group, is activated in the Kasa app or by Alexa.  The group works, and even changes the status of the non-working switch.)

1. Physically pressing the switch does not turn the lights on/off, but DOES turn the circle indicator on the switch on/off.

2. It is obviously connected to the network, as explained below.

3. Activating the individual switch in the Kasa app turns the switch on/off, as seen by the circle indicator changing status as well as by the clicking noise.  It does NOT, however, turn on the lights.

4. If I activate the group in the app, not just the individual switch, the lights DO turn on.  It ALSO activates the non-working switch, as again indicated by the circle indicator and the clicking noise.  So clearly the switch is part of the group controlling the floodlights.

5.  To no surprise using Alexa results in the exact same results as above.  Telling Alexa to activate the individual switch causes its status to change and click, but the lights do not come on.  Telling Alexa to activate the group also causes the switch to change status and click, but the lights DO come on.

6. Yes, this is in a group with an HS210.  Nothing has changed from the past year+ when all the switches always worked.