New network - inside, outside, barn

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-11-17 15:40:30
Model: Archer A7  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

I have no experience with this - so please, explain like I am 5.

I am looking to have wireless mesh as well as an outdoor access point (or two).

I cannot find a place that describes the difference among all the Deco products. I keep reading outdoor access points do not work with Deco. I also  cannot find a place to help me pick from EAP110/225/255.

If I end up with two home networks, that is fine. I would like to purchase the appropriate models for my application.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Options
6 Reply
Re:New network - inside, outside, barn
2020-11-17 22:53:12 - last edited 2020-11-19 22:52:29

@jmob 

The Deco units will work with EAP devices as the EAP only needs a wired internet connection from one of the Deco LAN ports. The area that won't work is the mesh network in that the Deco will be its own Wi-Fi mesh network, the EAP Wi-Fi would be its own wireless network. So think of it as having a router in the house, and a router outside.

In terms of being on a mesh network, what happens is the Deco will recommend the device what node to connect to, and the client device will ultimately connect. Say a device doesn't support mesh, it would just connect depending on what its threshold is set to, maybe the strongest signal or stays connected until the signal disappears. So walking from in the house to outside is not bad or will cause issues, your device will jump over to the next available network in the end.

I would probably go for the Deco M9, I like its wireless backhaul, but if you want something more affordable I would look at the Deco M5.