Need "TL-WR902AC for Dummies" setup instructions

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-12-07 06:45:25
Model: TL-WR902AC  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version:

I am fairly experienced with my Android smartphone but I'm new to setting up a router. My programmer-husband sets up and maintains our home router but he does not speak smartphone at all so I am struggling to get this up and running. I have read the User Guide but it seems to require a level of knowledge that I don't have. I have 2 Internet sources at home I can tap into, our home password-protected router or my smartphone which I can run in USB-tethered mode or hotspot mode if needed.

Specific questions:

- Under 2.2.1 Standard Wireless Router Mode, the instructions show connection to an Ethernet port (which I don't have handy, it's at the other end of the house) and then says "connect your device to the router wirelessly." Is this an alternative to connecting via Ethernet? Since our router requires a password, how can I put that in? The User Guide points out the device's network name and password are on the label, which I found, but what good does that do me? Don't I need to give the travel router the home router password so it can connect to the home router?

- Under 2.2.3 Range Extender Mode, it again directs me to connect to the router wirelessly and points me to the DEVICE's name & password, but I need a way for the device to send the password the home router expects.

Feel free to point me towards a guide or web page. I can't google if I have no idea what I'm looking for. I have a feeling I'm missing something terribly obvious, but I won't mind looking stupid if that's what it takes to get this up and running!

Options
6 Reply
Re:Need "TL-WR902AC for Dummies" setup instructions
2020-12-07 12:31:59