Kasa KS230 3-Way Kit version 1 wiring guide - CHECK wiring at light fixture if accessible!

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Kasa KS230 3-Way Kit version 1 wiring guide - CHECK wiring at light fixture if accessible!

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-12-05 16:55:51
Tags: #wiring
Model: KS230 KIT  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version:

Dear Kasa Colleagues smiley

Thought I would share some tips on the best and safest approach for wiring the Kasa KS230 3-Way dimming kit revision 1 - the one with dedicated Traveler 1 and Traveler 2 terminals.   ** Disclaimer, I am not a licensed electrician, I am in the Tech sector.   I have installed and used upwards of a hundred Kasa devices they have all worked well but have only had issues with the KS230 like many others.   Our home has several areas with 3-Way switching.   I managed to get one working last year but was stomped on one spot and deferred the 3-Way switches.   I heard about the v2 kits but still have several v1 kits handy and thought I'd try again and finally found the root of my issue and likely many others.   The wiring (colors) of the Traveler 1 and Traveler 2 wires from switchbox 1 and switchbox 2 were switched at the light fixture!!!   frown.   My approach, and recommedation is as follows.

A) Wiring troubleshooting:

1. Check, take photos of wiring of your old devices, and observe any oddly switched wiring colors.  ** Be mindful that Traveler wire orde rmay not matter on many switches including older non smart ones.

2. If you have tools and knowledge to check / trace wiring electrical / signal path.. do so to confirmthe which wires goes to what from switch box 1 to switch box 2.  Do not assume that they are color aligned / coded.

** Note **