Want to use a Smart Switch to control a Switched Outlet

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-04-03 06:18:25 - last edited 2023-04-03 19:36:49
Model: HS200  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi all,

I have a Switched outlet that at times, is kind of a pain to reach.

My hope was to use a Smart Switch so that I could manually flip it on or use Alexa.

The outlet has a lamp plugged into it and an always-hot one.

Disclaimer: electrical newbie here, swapped out various receptacles, ceiling fans, lights, etc. but all without understanding the actual electrical mechanics...

I opened up the existing switch and was surprised to see a black and red going to the switch as I expected Black and White.  But then I realized, oh right, this isn't just a simple one-way switch due to the always-hot outlet.

In the back are Neutrals in a Wire nut and even a Ground if I remember correctly.

Is there a Kasa Switch that will work in this instance?  I have a few HS200s and some other ones as well.

Or will a Smart OUTLET be a better option?  If so, will it still work with a plain jane Wall Switch?

tks,

Ty

Options
3 Reply
Re:Want to use a Smart Switch to control a Switched Outlet
2023-04-03 19:40:24

@Rainbird,

I believe that you should have no problem configuring a regular switch for this connection, as long as all the required connections are available in the wall box. I do believe that the always on is wired separately from the switch but I am not 100% positive. I believe that I had once bypassed a switch that was controlling the outlet so that we could use the entire outlet normally.