Votes

Setup Static Route for Deco M5

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

Votes

Setup Static Route for Deco M5

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
51 Reply
Re:Setup Static Route for Deco
2022-12-20 06:17:02

This discussion thread has been very enlightening, it very clearly illustrates that while the support staff responding online here are well intentioned, theyre also so obviously disconnected from the product engineers and management mechanisms to make meaningful change or pass on valuable, easily actioned feedback. 

this "static route" feature isnt even a feature y'all. Everyone one here should be peeved right off and feel duped. I am a senior systems architect as well as a network engineer. I've worked for IBM and Microsoft as my first 2 jobs in my career and have going on 20 years of experience in this industry.  Let me tell you why this is a rip off and you're all being duped. These deco devices, like pretty much every network device out there, especially ones that do routing/firewalling are all essentially Arm or mips based SBCs (single board computers) running Linux under the hood. They're not much different then a raspberry pi except that a PI could blow these puny pieces of trash out the water in performance and PIs are cheaper to buy as well . switches are a little different story then routers/firewalls/wireless access points, but many do run Linux under the hood, atleast for the management interface or if the switch is a web/smart or managed layer 3 switch it will almost certainly be running Linux under the hood to use its universally proven and secure TCP/IP stack. That stack has has IP routing capabilities since it's very first revision.  The ability to define a static route DOES exist  within them.  Another part of the stack these devices uses is the TCP and IP protocol's to provide the user