How to connect Deco M5 directly to Singtel ONT

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-10-04 02:12:29 - last edited 2021-07-05 09:10:30
Model: Deco M5  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi.

I am a newbie at home networking stuff, so need some advice.

I recently bought a Deco M5 and was wondering if it is possible to connect it directly to Singtel ONT, instead of Singtel issued router ?

I tried just plugging it directly, but no internet despite good connection.

Please help me understand if I have missed out anything important.

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:How to connect Deco M5 directly to Singtel ONT-Solution
2020-06-26 02:32:24 - last edited 2021-07-05 09:10:30

@TH_K hi, sg user here too. you cant do that for Singtel, because the router they pass you also acts as their modem which they store the config to connect to the network. the ont also i think only allow for one router to LAN1 port at a time only. you have to connect your deco to the singtel router instead, is what im doing for my powerline as well. you can always call them to confirm this. or go hardwarezone forums got more info. this forum not a lot of SG users to help with this specific singtel issue 

Recommended Solution
Options
10 Reply
Re:How to connect Deco M5 directly to Singtel ONT
2019-10-10 02:14:41

@Meowbear 

Hello, you can connect the Deco M5 to the ONT directly bypass the singtel router. 

To make it work, you need configure it with the username and password given by ISP. And VLAN ID if needed. 

May it help and have a nice day. 

Options
2020-05-09 08:53:43

@Kevin_Z