OneMesh network plus Sky Q and Sky Q mini?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-10-07 09:27:42
Model: Archer A7  
Hardware Version: V5
Firmware Version: 1.0.15

Hi.

I'm in the process of migrating my broadband from Sky to Virgin, and am trying to work out of a OneMesh network would work for me and solve a couple of issues I have.

I'm pretty new to this type of thing, so apologies if I've misunderstood anything.

I'll try and give as much context and detail as I can so further apologies for the long post :) 

What I have now:

• My current Internet is based on the default Sky modem/router upstairs, a Sky Q box downstairs, and a Sky Q mini box in a room somewhere in between
  • I have split the networks into separate 2ghz and 5ghz networks with different SSID names - priority devices (laptops, iPhones etc) are on the 5 network and the rest are on the 2
  • I'm keeping the Sky tv services and Q boxes, but changing internet to Virgin (for the speed boost - from 70mbps up to 500mbps)

What I'm switching to:

• My new Virgin internet is due to be installed in a week or so, and I will be based around a Virgin HUB3 device.
  • I'd heard that the HUB3 has a pretty poor wifi range so I plan to turn off the router part of the HUB3 and just use it as the modem, and have bought a Archer 7 to use as the router. this will be connected via cable to the HUB3.
  • The Sky Q and Sky Q Mini boxes will stay as they are

However, I'm concerned this may not solve the issue of wifi dead spots in the house, so was looking at OneMesh.

I could get a couple of RE300 repeaters to connect to teh Archer 7 and create a OneMesh across the house, but will this then clash or compete with the Sky Q and Q mini boxes?