Wired internet being throttled by switch

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-08-09 17:37:40
Model: TL-SG116  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi all, I'm a networking novice to be gentle!

I'm getting slow wired speeds and I've narrowed the problem down to my TP Link switch (TL-SG116). I currently have a Sky router connected to an Eero (mesh) gateway (in bridge mode), and then the Eero connected to a switch. I've narrowed down the problem to my TP Link switch by connecting my laptop directly to the Sky router and am getting 1gig speeds, I then connected directly to the Eero Gateway and got 1gig speeds, but when I plugged back into the switch they drop to around 350MB/s. I thought there might be a problem with the cable connecting the Eero to the switch so swapped it out but it made no difference, and finally I tried connecting the switch directly to the Sky router and am still getting around 350MB/s so it would be appear to the the switch throttling somehow. It's a gigabit switch.

Does anyone have any idea how I can solve this?

Options
5 Reply
Re:Wired internet being throttled by switch
2023-08-14 01:03:39

@BH1983 

Hi, Have you connected the Eero bridge to another port on the SG116?

It is also suggested to check the wired link speed on the clients when it is connected to the switch.

How to check the associated/link speed on a wired client

By the way, how long have you had the switch?

If possible, please also refer to this link to check the internal Ethernet transfer speed:

What can I do if the speed is slow when the PC is connected to the unmanaged switch?

Thank you very much.

Best regards.

Options
2023-08-14 07:20:45