Archer AX3000 Terrible Upload Speeds after 1.0.6 Firmware Update

2023-12-17 04:10:12 - last edited 2023-12-17 05:42:24
Model: Archer AX3000  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.6 Build 20230831

I've noticed since upgrading my firmware (maybe a month ago?) that I have had absolutely atrocious upload speeds. I'm talking like 0.5 mbps. Let me preface by saying I work in IT, and I have already done all the basics like rebooting, replaced ethernet cables, etc... My DOWNLOAD speeds are fine, so please don't mention that.

I reached out to my ISP and after some tests they said that they are sending me the speeds I pay for, so they concluded it was my hardware. I use my own router and modem (Netgear CM1000v2); according to my modem all firmware updates from the modem are pushed by the ISP.

I pay for 1200mbps down, and up to 200mbps up. I know those are not guaranteed but I have had this issue for weeks now, so I think it may be the firmware update. I have done a speed test from multiple devices, including some connected by ethernet, and it is always the same: great download, terrible upload. I ran a speed test from the Tether app and it was also the same, so I know it's not device specific.

Is there a way to revert my router to the previous firmware> I tried looking on the TP site but I don't think I can. i was getting 40-50mbps consistently before the update and now I can't even use my camera in meetings or do anything that requires upload. It's terrible. Not using a VPN or any port forwarding/static IPs if that matters. Please help. My last resort is to reset to factory defaults but idk if that will fix it

Options
3 Reply
Re:Archer AX3000 Terrible Upload Speeds after 1.0.6 Firmware Update
2023-12-18 09:06:50

@Pmintz 

Hi, currently the AX3000 router is connected to your own modem router Netgear CM1000v2, right?