XE75Pro top Ethernet port does not work.

2024-01-28 19:51:46 - last edited 2024-01-31 05:44:11
Model: Deco XE75 Pro  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.2.4

The top Ethernet port will not forward traffic. At all. It will light up a switch, showing link and some activity, but no traffic will flow. Any other Deco backhauled to that top port will lose connectivity with the main unit, wired or wireless. If one plugs a second Deco into that top port, it disappears (goes 'offline'), even when it is sitting on a bench next to the main unit. The second unit will start flashing red 5-20 seconds after the Ethernet is plugged in. This is all on a benchtop, no switches, and I am using the cables that were sent with the Decos.

This seems to apply to both XE75 Pros that I have, and maybe the plain XE75 that is my third unit.

I am a retired network engineer, so I am not just "doing it wrong". I have had the decos for 6 months or so, and after renovating the house changed the configuration so I could do wired backhauls and that is when I discovered this.

Options
1 Accepted Solution
Re:XE75Pro top Ethernet port does not work. -Solution
2024-01-31 05:35:06 - last edited 2024-01-31 05:44:11

@Ib1netmon 

OK, figgered it out. Top port on one of the XE75 Pro units is whacked, to use the technical term.

It puts up link on the ethernet connection, but traffic isn't passing, possibly only in one direction.

I am just going to make that unit my most peripheral one (so I won't need that port), glue a Mod8 connector into that port in case I forget in the future, and call it a day.

Bye, all.

Recommended Solution
Options
8 Reply
Re:XE75Pro top Ethernet port does not work.
2024-01-29 07:33:45

@Ib1netmon 

Hi, Are you able to create the Ethernet Backhaul via another Ethernet port from the main Deco XE75 Pro?

Please also go to Deco APP>More>Advanced>IPTV/VLNA and make sure the IPTV VLAN is disabled.

Wait for your reply and best regards.

Options
2024-01-30 05:50:48

@David-TP