Deco M5 - Ethernet no longer working after last firmware update

2024-07-22 10:49:56
Model: Deco M5   Deco M9 Plus  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: 1.7.6 build 20240305

Since the last Deco M5 firmware update, I have been unable to access any network devices attached using ethernet ports to my main and satellite Decos.

Network setup:

Fibre to premises modem -> Main Deco (in router mode, IPTV switched off) -> Unmanaged Network Switch -> Ethernet cables hard wired to four satellite Decos -> network switches -> devices connected by ethernet cable.

I have been running this network without any major problems for over two years.  After the latest firmware update, I  noticed that none of the ethernet-connected devices (such as television, NAS drives and PCs) were connected to the network.  I initially thought that maybe one of the ethernet cables or the unmanaged network switch connected to the Main Deco had reached end of life so replaced it (and the other switches bought at the same time)  with brand new Netgear GS308 switches and Cat 7 and Cat 8 ethernet cables.

I have tried power cycling everything a number of times but about halfway through the process of turning on each Deco and waiting for it to reboot, when adding one of the ethernet connected satellite Decos it is as if the system trips and all ethernet connected Decos fail over onto WiFi. This doesn't seem to happen with a particular ethernet-connected satellite Deco; it can happen with any one of them,

I have tried replacing the main deco with a different M5 deco. 

I have also replaced the main deco with a brand new M9+ deco.

I have also deleted the network and created a new network from scratch.

None of these solutions have worked. 

All ideas very much appreciated.

Options
2 Reply
Re:Deco M5 - Ethernet no longer working after last firmware update
2024-07-23 07:03:49

@Lurcherjohn 

Hi, is the current network topology like:

Are both switches Netgear GS308?