Post over on the RING Doorbell forum about M5 bricking doorbells

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-08-09 03:53:48
Model: Deco M5  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version:

I have personally replaced five RING Doorbell 2's

and on RING Doorbell Pro since installing the M5 system in my home. I am now not runnning Fast Roaming and have used the Chime Pro Network Extender that RING makes for the doorbelland have not had it brick my latest install yet. Is anyone at TP-Link aware of this issue?

https://community.ring.com/t5/Video-Doorbells/TP-Link-Deco-Mesh-WiFi-bricking-Ring-cameras/m-p/1611#M447

For the record, I am a Video Network Engineer with on of the big 5 telecoms and have been here 11 years. I have been in the tech sector for over 20 years and pioneer many new technologies. I am at this point jsut waiting for the WiFi 6 to become affordable and proven products to be tested by the genral public so I can get rid of the M5's I suppose. I hate that and almost would rather get rid of ring system but i am into it over $1300 with my whole home security alarm system and lights etc. So replacing the mesh system is less expensive at this point.

I would love to hear how this is impossible - but I would say put your money where your mouth is and come see my situation. The correlation and causation all point to the installing of the M5's and i am not the only one who is having issues. I am not sure what the problem is exactly other than overheating the doorbell by switching back and forth between devices or flapping maybe???

Does TP-Link consider this something to be concerned about?

Kind Regards,

Tony

Options
2 Reply
Re:Post over on the RING Doorbell forum about M5 bricking doorbells
2019-08-09 21:14:48

@NASTYBYNATURE 

Hi Tony,