Smart Connect on Archer A6 Stuck at 2.4GHz

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-05-20 04:18:29
Model: Archer A6  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.1.5 Build 20191112 rel.36515(5553)

I've been using Archer A6 for the past 4 months and noticed that Smart Connect hasn't been working as expected. If my device is in 5GHz network initially, then I move it into another room which has bad 5GHz signal, the router automatically assign it to 2.4GHz. However, the problem is that when I go back to the initial place where the 5GHz network is good, the device stays in 2.4GHz network. I even tried once to let my device sit next to the router for more or less 24 hours, but the connected network stays in 2.4GHz network. Is there anything I can do to fix this?

Options
9 Reply
Re:Smart Connect on Archer A6 Stuck at 2.4GHz
2020-05-20 13:17:19
It is your device that selects which network to connect to, not the router as just broadcast the signal. You will need to research the device to see if it has an option to select the 5GHz over the 2.4GHz network.
Options
2020-05-20 15:02:48

@FataleLieberi 

Check your device. It is probably set to connect to the strongest band it sees. Going away from a router, the distance matters for band strength. The 2.4Ghz stays stronger for a longer distance than the 5Ghz does. Suspect in your case, the 2.4Ghz became stronger and the device switched. It will not switch back to the 5Ghz as long as the bands have the same power level. All you can do is disconnect and reconnect, the device should then switch back. 

By the way, most router Smart Connects are not 'dynamic' or 'load leveling'. They 'figure out' what the device is capable of and connect to that band. If the device were to see a band that had a stronger signal it would switch.