VPN with static or dynamic address possible?

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-08-07 01:00:24
Model: Archer AX6000  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.2.1 Build 20210205 rel.12759(5553)

I created an ovpn file but want to know if I can create one or edit the one I created and substitute a dynamic dns address instead of a fixed IP address. Is this possible? This would allow me to not be concerned if my IP changes my IP over time.

Options
5 Reply
Re:VPN with static or dynamic address possible?
2021-08-07 16:30:01

@marklyn 

You should have no issues as long as the DDNS has your correct IP address as assigned from your ISP not the VPN IP address.

Options
2021-08-07 16:32:39 - last edited 2021-08-07 16:34:03

@ArcherC8 Sorry, could you clarify your answer, I'm fairly new to VPN.

Does this mean if I use TPLink's DDNS that when I use VPN, even if my ISP changed my IP, that I'd still be able to connect?

I ask because when I see the VPN connect, I also see an IP number.

Is that the DDNS you're talking about?

Side note, when I create the ovpn file from my router I never have the opportunity to specify using ddns as part of the ovpn config file it creates.

Options
2021-08-07 20:14:49

@marklyn