Archer AX6000 slow speeds

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-02-06 14:26:59 - last edited 2022-02-06 15:34:37
Model: Archer AX6000  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.2.4 build 20210719 rel. 12163(5553)

I first want to preface this by saying that I am not an IT person so my understanding of the nuances of tech is a bit parochial.  Second, I do know enough to have set up several home and office networks in my time so I am not a complete noob either.  This issue is frustrating me and my wife who works from home and is routinely being messed up by slow speeds.

I recently purchased this from Amazon after my old TPLink router died.  I bought this one because it had the 8 ports and was essentially a router/switch. 

My ISP is Comcast 1.2 Gbps connection (I routinely would get 900 Mbps with the old router on the PC)

Modem: Arris surfboard SB8200 Docsis 3.1 (max of 2Gbps)

I have an eeros mesh system in the house that would get about 250 Mbps on the wireless with the old router.

The internal speed test on the AX6000 is always about 54 Mbps upload and 25 Mbps downoad.  The speed test on the eeros always matches this number.

I don't run any VPNs or anything.

My home PC, xbox, and TV are hardlined into the AX6000 as is the eeros system.  I have tried three different internet speed tests on my PC and they all come back at between 700 and 950 Mbps.  When I do it on my phone on the eeros, it comes back at only 54 Mbp (my old router would almost always hit 250 which is the max for this eeros system).  It comes back at about 60 when I am on the AX6000 wireless (my old router would always hit the 250 mark as well).