Disable TPLinkWiFi.net Redirect

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-11-22 18:08:35
Tags: #Firmware Update #tplinkwifi.net
Model: Archer AX21  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.3.5 Build 20211231 rel.63562(5553)

I have poured through the forums regarding this obnoxious redirect everytime someone accesses the local web interface of their TP-Link router. It doesn't matter the model because all current firmwares seem to have this redirect hard-coded.

Some forum posts have "TP-Link Engineers" posting B.S. about how the browser cache is the most common culprit because the redirect is only used for initial configurations. The reason I know that the excuse being given is B.S. is because as a networking engineer, I have tools, resources, and testing servers that debunk the excuse.

I operate a public DNS, private DNS, reverse Proxy, and other related tools. I also am familiar with Wireshark and it's use cases for studying networking traffic.

When I attempt to access the local web interface of http://192.168.1.1 of a TP-Link router (specifically an Archer AX21), a reverse proxy baked into the webserver of the web interface for the AX21 redirects initiating traffic to tplinkwifi.net. There is a timeout built into the reverse proxy where within a given time period, you can go back and put the IP address http://192.168.1.1 and NOT be redirected. I have simlar, if not identical, configurations on my NGINX reverse proxy server.