Need advice expanding network to another building

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2024-01-31 17:41:58 - last edited 2024-01-31 17:43:06
Model: Archer A7  
Hardware Version: V5
Firmware Version: 1.2.1

We're living in a shop while building a house - will have conduit between the two buildings later (1 yr).  But for now, we have a need to expand the wifi in the shop to and throughout the house. From corner of the shop to the nearest corner of the (attached) garage, it's 90 to 100 feet between buildings.  It is about 60+ feet from the nearest side of the house to the back side (total 150+ feet from shop to back of house).

I'm not technically literate in terms of how to design local networks.  I know we just need wifi in the house for now, hard-wired access not required.  I'd like to buy the necessary hardware and start getting things in place, but don't know what to buy.  The Archer A7 reaches the house, weakly, and whether or not it works depends on the device.

What do I look into buying? Access point at the shop, one or more mesh routers in the house?  I'd love it if the SSID stayed the same everywhere (shop and house), e.g. one expanded network, not separate networks and a bridge for example.  A friend mention 'Omada', another mentioned 'Access Point', another mentioned 'Mesh Router' ... and I'm confused.  Can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks, and my apologies since I suspect that it's already been addressed here somewhere, but my first casual search didn't spot it ...

Brian

Options
7 Reply
Re:Need advice expanding network to another building
2024-01-31 21:38:41

@IdahoTaterHead 

There are few approaches to do this:

1. Omada solution using your existing A7 - details.

2. Deco system in AP mode using your existing A7 - details.