Is TP-Link HS200 right switch that suits my current switch design

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2018-12-31 17:30:36

I have 3 switch panel: 

From left to right

Switch 1:  Controls the outside lights. There is only one switch no other switch in the house or garage controls the outside light.

Switch 2: Controls the chandelier. Behaves same as switch 1, no other switch in the house controls the chandelier.

Switch 3: Controls the hallway lights. There are two other switches in the hallway that controls the same lights.

I want to replace switch 1 with TP-Link HS200. However, there is one red wire coming from box it is wrapping around switch 1 then going to switch 2 and then to switch 3.

Now here is what I was thinking and need some expert advice as I am new to this:

• if I can somehow manage to take the same red wire part that is connecting to switch 1, connect that to HS200 Black wire 1.
  • Yellow wire connect that to HS200 black wire 2
  • HS200 white wire to white wires connected in the box.

This switch box doesn't have ground wire and I checked other switches that control the hallway lights they also don't have ground wire. They just have a bunch of orange wires. Is it okay to leave the ground wire as is? I bought a small green color ground wire from home depot, but I don't where I should connect to in the box. 

Options
2 Reply
Re:Is TP-Link HS200 right switch that suits my current switch design
2019-01-01 19:34:08

@zukaa 

For switch one, yes

For switch two, maybe as long as the chandelier is not controled by a remote control or  has a dimmer function.

For Switch three,  No if there are other switches that control the lights then an HS210 would be needed.