WR841HP v3 unstable connection

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2019-07-01 05:16:06
Model: TL-WR841HP  
Hardware Version: V3
Firmware Version:

I have been using WR841HP for around 3 years now, without any issues at all. Until recently, for the past few weeks, the connection became very unstable.

I have contacted the ISP, however, they claim that there isn't any issues on their side. So, I installed the original router that was provided to us and true enough, the connection is pretty stable and I am able to achieve 100mbps. However, even it's dual band, there is no 'wall penetration' technology thing, and the signal can't even get to upstairs. My repeater is of no help when there is no signal.

When I reinstalled WR841HP, the highest I can get is 40mbps (previously I am also able to achieve 100mbps). Yes, I have already updated the latest firmware.

Before, I have no issues getting wifi signal of 20mbps in my room located upstairs, until these few weeks, I am getting either fluctuating signal strength... For a few moments, I obtain 20mbps, most of the time between 1 to 5mbps. From time to time, it will get disconnected... The other rooms upstairs are getting pretty weak and unstable as well. I can summarise it in such a way that, 80% of the time 1 to 5mbps, wifi signal gets disconnected every one hour, and files that I am downloading indicates "network fail" and I will need to redownload them.

By changing channels (normally i assigned to auto), certain channels, I am not able to connect to the wifi at all...

Frustrated, I reset the router, and setup once again... The issue is the same...

I am getting very stable signal downstairs, but not upstairs.