Has ANYONE found a way to prevent or repair the incessent relay/switch failures of P100s and P110s?

Has ANYONE found a way to prevent or repair the incessent relay/switch failures of P100s and P110s?

2023-06-07 18:53:56
Model: Tapo P100  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hi,

I know that this must be a recurring theme but I've got about 10 P100/P110s controlling various things in my house and ONCE AGAIN one of them has stopped switching! The app thinks it is switching and the LED changes, but this time there isn't even a relay click. Previous, failed P100/P110s have still clicked but not actually switched.

Astonishingly this is the third time I have had a failure out of probably 9 operational sockets.....I've only been using them for a couple of years (and bought most of them this year), so I am seeing something pretty damn close to 30% failure rate per year. I worked in the electronics industry on safety critical products (like these are) for 30 years and that failure rate is frankly disgusting.

Has anyone tried opening these up and replacing the relays with something reliable? Or is the underlying problem with them not just the relays?

I have already been through hoops with customer support TWICE to replace the first 2 failures but I haven't kept track of the individual S/Ns that came with each purchase so I have no idea when, from whom, where and for what price I bought today's failure so I will just write off another £15 (or £10 nowadays if I was willing to replace it) and throw another TAPO socket in the bin....... unless someone knows a handy youtube repair video or something?

I can't find any discussions of repairs so I appreciate it's a long shot - but any suggestions will be gratefully received.

MBD

Options
11 Reply
Re:Has ANYONE found a way to prevent or repair the incessent relay/switch failures of P100s and P110s?
2023-06-13 10:40:28 - last edited 2023-06-13 10:50:32