Configure multiple wireless PCs to work with Xbox Live Multiplayer

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-03-22 23:27:43
Model: Archer A6  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.1.8 Build 20210226 rel.34930

I recently purchased the Archer A6 and have since lost the ability to connect my childrens' laptops to their friends' Minecraft worlds. When checking the XBox Networking Connection status, I see the NAT Type is set to Strict which is preventing me from connecting to the other worlds. I can run the laptops from my phone hotspot and they are able to connect to the worlds which narrows the problem to the router. 

I have done quite a bit of Googling to resolve the issues and have been unsuccessful. I have limited networking knowledge and am having a hard time resolving what should be a fairly simple process. 

I reset network connections on the laptops. 

I have ensured UPnP is enabled.

I have added the ports to Port Triggering (I believe this only works for Ethernet-connected devices?)

I have attempted to set static IPs on both laptops and tried to place them in the DMZ but can only place one. Wiped that and disabled DMZ

I tried to set the devices as virtual servers for Port Forwarding but cannot assign ports to both devices. 

Options
2 Reply
Re:Configure multiple wireless PCs to work with Xbox Live Multiplayer
2022-03-23 02:34:50

@JosephK 

Adding the Archer A6 to the network may cause a double NAT if there is a modem router already. You can try to switch the A6 to AP mode as per this guide (Case 1), then check again if the NAT type will change.