backhaul: 10/100 CAT5 ethernet vs Powerline adapter

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-02-26 21:05:24
Tags: #Backhaul Method #Powerline
Model: Deco X55  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: current

I'm new to mesh networking. My new Deco x55 setup is working pretty well, but I'm looking to maximize it. My fiber ISP speed is 250Mbs. I have CAT5 wiring in place and hooked it up for backhaul hoping that would give me better performance than using WiFi backhaul, but it is actually slower than when using WiFi backhaul. I'm getting close to 250 Mbs download using WiFI backhaul but it chokes down to about 120 using CAT5 backhaul. Can I do better using a powerline adapter for wired backhaul instead? Wiring in my house is all 12 ga romex installed within the last 25 years.

Steve

Options
5 Reply
Re:backhaul: 10/100 CAT5 ethernet vs Powerline adapter
2023-02-27 23:42:23

@SZDBLLC 

You just need to change the wires.  If you are using Cat 5 you need to swap to Cat5E or higher to get higher speeds.  Cat 5 itself is only rated for 10/100 fast ethernet 

Options
2023-02-28 00:03:42

@Carl changing the wires is not an option. 

Options
2023-02-28 00:18:36

@SZDBLLC 

Sorry, the way i read that originally was that you were using CAT5 to your PowerLine.  I see the discrepancy.  PowerLine might work but its depends on several factors and sometimes the speeds down the Powerline are worst than if you just did WiFi.   Have you tried using the Deco on Wireless backhaul?  Transmission rates may be better then?

Options
2023-02-28 00:27:11