Is it possible to use RE615X extenders in AP mode with computer and no router?

2 weeks ago - last edited 2 weeks ago

Hi all -

I'm a newbie here and am looking for some advice. 

I have an older wireless router connected in access-point mode to my gateway computer (running Debian Linux, with a firewall and DHCP server).  The router is a Turris Omnia, about 4-5 years old.  Technically, it's a great router, basically a little Linux computer which does auto-updates periodically and has been fine except that it's WiFi 4 and has lousy range, and I have a pretty big space needing coverage.  

I have several rooms hard-wired into an Ethernet hub which is also connected to the gateway, of course.  Each of those rooms has its own satellite Ethernet hub/switch.

I would like to replace the wireless router (remove it completely) with two RE615X extenders, plugged into the satellite switches in the other rooms, both in AP mode.  I would like to set them up in mesh mode, so I only need one SSID each for 5GHz and 2.4GHz.

Is this possible?  Can I eliminate the router altogether?  Will the two extenders work in Mesh mode without the router so I can have one SSID for each frequency?

If it will work, is there any trick to setting this up?

Thanks for any help - much appreciated!

Options
5 Reply
Re:Is it possible to use RE615X extenders in AP mode with computer and no router?
a week ago - last edited Yesterday

@Dilligaf74 

You can use RE615X in AP mode with your gateway computer, but you won't be able to use them in mesh network since they don't support it when set in AP mode.

Here's a guide on how to position your RE's for optimal reception and performance.

If this was helpful click once on the arrow pointing upward. If this solves your issue, click once the star to mark it as a "Recommended Solution".
Options
Re:Is it possible to use RE615X extenders in AP mode with computer and no router?
a week ago

Hi @Dilligaf74 

Welcome to the community.