This thread is about my thoughts on Tapo app 3.0 and some of the Tapo cameras that I have

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread is about my thoughts on Tapo app 3.0 and some of the Tapo cameras that I have

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-07-22 13:14:54
Model: Tapo C500  
Hardware Version: V1
Firmware Version: 1.0.4

I've been using TP-Link Tapo products for about 2 years, well they became one of the necessary things in order to make my house smart.
So first, I will show some issues that I have discovered when using the new Tapo app 3.0:

To be honest, the new app User Interface is modern, and more easy to use. But the app itself has some problems.

1. The notifications status in the camera settings is not working fine

This thing happens on all of my camera, so I think the error is in the app.

- When I move into the camera settings page, scroll down to the "Notifications", it says the notifications are "Off" (although I have turned it on)

- Then I press in the notifications, yes, it shows the notifications are On

- And I press return, the notifications turned back to on.

*All the steps are shown in the pictures below.

This bug might cause some confusion to the users.

2. PTZ Preset Points can be pressed just one time, if you want to press it, you need to press on an other preset point then press back.

The previous Tapo app doesn't have this issue.

- When I press a preset point for the camera to pan & tilt to its location (the second one which is blue-outlined in the first picture)

- Then I manually press the right arrow (which makes the camera to pan right)

- And now, I want the camera to return to the second preset point, I press it, then it doesn't work.

- I have to select the first preset point

- Next, I select the second preset point, it returns normally.