Archer a6 server port forwarding

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2020-02-16 21:45:05
Model: Archer A6  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version:

Hello, I'm new to the TPLink Archer family, I used to set up all my servers using Linksys and DLink routers for HL2DM, Minecraft, etc...but my last DLink router died and I decided on the Archer A6.  Port forwarding for my servers was very simple using the other routers but I'm a little confused with the Archer setup and am asking for some assistance on how to do it. 

What I've done so far is log in to my router, Advanced>NAT Forwarding>Virtual Servers>Add>View Existing Services>HTTP (I'm assuming)>Enter my ports and IP and select 'All' for protocol then click save.

I just want to make sure that is the correct way as I'm not having any luck with anyone locating my server(s) via internet or LAN.  Am I supposed to be using Port Triggering instead of Virtual Servers?

Thanks in advance!

Options
5 Reply
Re:Archer a6 server port forwarding
2020-02-17 13:23:57
I do not use minecraft or other games. I do port forward Security DVR and cameras. Try setting port type. see https://portforward.com/minecraft/
Options
2020-02-17 20:34:44

@ArcherC8 Thanks for the response but I know what ports to forward I'm just not familiar with the a6 - do I accomplish this through Virtual Server or Port Triggering or both?  With my other routers there was a specific "Port Forwarding" area to do this and was very straight forward.

Options
2020-02-18 12:30:58
I used Forwarding virtual servers for may DVR setting the protocal to the expected one which was TCP in my case. I have UPnP turned on for my device and I use address reservation so the MAC is assigned to a specific internal IP. I do not use Port Triggering.
Options
2020-02-20 18:27:46

@dbanimal