HOW TO SET UP NON-WIF TV TO DECO-HAS ETHERNET PORT

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2021-07-27 13:54:25 - last edited 2021-07-28 20:09:58

Hi everyone!

I'm kinda new to this wifi mesh stuff. My Deco M5 comes with two ethernet ports. I set the one up with no problems, disconnected it from my router, connected it to my tv via the ethernet port and have a red light on the Deco.

What am I doing wrong.

I am most grateful for any help.

Options
6 Reply
Re:HOW TO SET UP NON-WIF TV TO DECO-HAS ETHERNET PORT
2021-07-28 02:24:52 - last edited 2021-07-29 00:59:28

@petey 

Sorry, I might mix the two replies from different threads.

There is the explanation:

The main M5 needs to be wired to the ISP modem/router all the time.

The satellite Deco could be wirelessly connected to the main Deco and you could connect the TV via cable to the satellite Deco.

It seemed like you have disconnected the main M5 from the ISP router.

Options
2021-07-28 20:09:46

@TP-Link Well, what's the answer? You didn't leave a solution.

Options
2021-07-29 18:43:30

@petey 

The Deco WiFi Mesh System requires one of the Deco units to remain connected to the source of internet.  It appears based on what you said here that this is not the case, hence the red light.  What you would need to do is connect one of the Deco units to the router or source of internet.  This will then provide internet service to the other Deco units in the Mesh network.  From there the unit that you connect to the TV should have no problem providing the TV internet.   If you bought a single pack and only have one Deco you would need to purchase at least one more unit to accomplish what you are looking at doing.