Parental Controls not working

2024-01-26 16:14:12
Model: Deco XE5300  
Hardware Version: V6
Firmware Version: 1.2.8 Build 20230901 Rel. 36505

I have been using the deco mesh system for almost 2 years and have never gotten the Parental Controls to work.

I have even paid for the Premium Homeshield package to get Advanced Parental Controls-  still no luck!

The deco system is able to block devices, but it works intermittently.

I have to manually add and remove devices from my child profiles in order for them to access or be blocked from the internet.

The scheduled block times may block a device, but then when the scheduled downtime ends, it does not unblock it.

I have to delete the device from the child profile for it to regain access.

The behavior is not the same all of the time either.

Right now, in an effort to figure this out, I have just factory reset my main deco and started over.

The parental controls will automatically block a device as soon as it is added to a profile, even if there is no blocking, schedule, or time limit.

Has anyone had success with Parental Controls?

Thanks for any ideas!

Options
4 Reply
Re:Parental Controls not working
2024-01-27 02:45:13

@drat242 

Here's a guide for configuring Parental Controls with HomeShield on Deco XE5300.

If this was helpful click once on the arrow pointing upward. If this solves your issue, click once the star to mark it as a "Recommended Solution".
Options
3 weeks ago
I’m also experiencing issues with blocking and unblocking devices. I actually returned the XE200 thinking there was something wrong with the device and bought the XE75 Pro and I’m still having the same issue. For testing I only connected two devices and blocked one but it still has access to the internet. This makes the parental controls worthless.
Options
2 weeks ago