DecoS4 signal needs in metal garage

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-02-28 18:23:48 - last edited 2023-02-28 18:28:57

Newbie here and I did search on subject.

We're looking at Deco S4 3 pack.  Our home is 2 story 2800 sq ft. We're finishing up our metal siding pole garage, 44x48 16' ceiling.

I was thinking of hooking up 2 units in house using WiFi and third unit would be in garage. I don't know if WiFi will travel 50' from house to closest window in garage?

I could possibly run Ethernet wire (85' run) if WiFi doesn't connect or maybe PowerLine Adapter. Garage has sub panel run from house meter. I'm thinking that's same circuit.

In my forum search, I believe I can connect several units with WiFi and finish last unit in garage with cable back to closest house unit. Correct? Hopefully 85' run isn't too long.

Or members seem to say with garage running off house meter line the PowerLine Adapter should work. Not sure if I still need one of three units in garage this way? Thoughts?

I thought and didn't see anything here about this, if I Ethernet unit in garage from house, will I be able to WiFi another unit in garage off the hardwired one?

I hope I'm clear on this as this is all new to me.

Than

Options
3 Reply
Re:DecoS4 signal needs in metal garage
2023-02-28 19:42:49

@DKStuck 

Ethernet has a maximum cable length of 100 Meters or about 328 feet, so 85 feet is not a problem if you plan to run an Ethernet cable and honestly that would likely be the best option.  Powerline will not work because Powerline does not work across panels, even if it's a sub-panel.  Also, the Metal walls could disrupt a wireless signal making performance in the garage poor.