Conflicting DHCP when Deco in AP mode ?

2019-02-18 23:44:39 - last edited 2022-08-15 08:41:47
Model: Deco M5  
Hardware Version: V2
Firmware Version: 1.2.4

Today I ran into an issue which made me almost cringe.. as I hadn't expect this to happen, considering I've been working in the IT networking business for over 30 years.. 

I had recently purchased a Deco M5 mesh set with 3 nodes and setup as AP access points, because I alread have a decent router from my ISP (Zyxel EMG2926). This has been working fine for the last 6-8 weeks and nothing to complain about. 

Last night, for some strange reason my router rebooted and I lost Internet connexion from everywhere, including my wired PC's which I use every day to work from home.. So getting back internet was critical to me and I tried the quick obvious options like rebooting the router and also reseting to factory the router, then reloading the configuration I had on backup.. To no avail, I wasn't able to get an functional internet, still the router diagnostic was able to ping any IP address outside my network.. Since I needed to work and support clients, I disconnected the Zyxel router and put back the Mercku M2 Hive base I had prior to the ISP router and after 5 minutes, was back into business.. (The Mercku is also a Mesh Wi-Fi system with 4 Bee nodes, albeit it wasn't working to my entire satisfaction, thus the purchase of the Deco M5).

Having spend the morning with work, I had hope the issue with the router might have been on the ISP side, so tried to set it back in action. Result was identical and nothing was really working.. Put the Mercku M2 back for the PM as I had a support call and did need internet ASAP.