Starlink in house, wifi to trailer in back yard

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2022-09-29 18:23:04 - last edited 2022-09-29 18:39:55

To begin with, I have no experience with extending wifi so have been researching for the past week, enough to become more confused about the appropriate solution.

We recently installed the square dish Starlink system in the house and have good wifi out here in the sticks, where fiber is rumored to be at least two years away, and Spectrum wants $10k to run a line to the property. The modem is in the living room at front of house and wifi is fine in all rooms. When within 30' of the house (60' from Starlink modem) wifi is good in the back yard. At 60' (beside the trailer we need good wifi to) wifi is degraded, yet still most times workable. However, when within the aluminum trailer itself, NO wifi signal is available.

The (aluminum framed and sheeted, insulated, with 1/2" plywood interior walls trailer is set up as a recording space. We've been using a wifi hotspot in the trailer, but wifi is often slow. We want to share the Starlink wifi from the house. Trailer is 90' overall from modem, and there are two woodsheds between rear of house and trailer, but with direct line of site between sheds to rear window of house.

Hoping for the best speed in recording room and better reception when outside in rear yard. At present, with only four total wifi devices connected, the need for prioritizing any of these is unnessary.