Wired backhaul vs 6 GHz Wifi backhaul

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.

This thread has been locked for further replies. You can start a new thread to share your ideas or ask questions.
2023-10-02 20:54:25
Model: Deco XE75 Pro  
Hardware Version:
Firmware Version: 1.2.3 Build 20230810

I have four Deco units, 3 XE75 Pro and one XE50 outdoor. Whats the best wired set up for these? Do I need switches placed anywhere?. I have a hub connected to one of the Decos on the 1 Gbps port to increase my available ports in the living room. I also have the XE50 outdoor connected wireless to the other since I'm unsure on which port to wire it. If these are all connected with ethernet, do you need wirless 6 GHz backhaul? Also which ports should these all be conected together if possible. Sorry to sound like a noob but im new to mesh set ups.

Options
2 Reply
Re:Wired backhaul vs 6 GHz Wifi backhaul
2023-10-03 22:20:41

Hey  @Willis71,

I will try to break it down pretty thoroughly.

To start, it is always recommended to try and wire your nodes together as this will ALWAYS provide a better connection than if they were connected wirelessly. Mesh allows for the nodes to be easily linked wirelessly, where it may not be possible or would be unreasonable to wire the nodes together. If you are using a wired backhaul between all of your nodes, there is no need for a wireless backhaul. In fact, in the event your ethernet cables disconnect, your nodes will automatically transition to using a wireless backhaul.

Connecting Your Decos: